HERDSA President

You are here


Professor Denise Chalmers
HERDSA President

Denise Chalmers, Professor Emeritus in the field of higher education teaching and learning at the University of Western Australia, was awarded an OLT National Senior Teaching Fellowship on recognising and rewarding university teaching in 2015 and an Australian Award for UniversityTeaching: Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning in 2014. In 2017 she was awarded Life membership by HERDSA. She has over 25 years demonstrated leadership in higher education, leading two university Centres of Teaching and Learning as Director and was a Foundation Director of the Carrick Institute (later ALTC) with responsibility for Awards, Fellowships and International Links. She has served as President and then as Vice President of the Council of Australian Directors of Academic Development (CADAD) 2008-2014. She is President for the Higher Education Research andDevelopment Society of Australasia (HERDSA). She has initiated and led several institutional, national and international initiatives and projects including developing and embedding teaching quality criteria and indicators and promoting the use of teaching and learning performance indicators to guide decision making and resource allocation.


Past Presidents

Allan Goody
July 2013 to July 2019

Shelda Debowski
University of Western Australia
July 2011 to June 2013

Geoffrey Crisp
University of Adelaide
July 2009 to June 2011

Shelda Debowski
University of Western Australia
July 2005 to June 2009

John Dearn
University of Canberra
July 2003 to June 2005

Angela Brew
University of Sydney
July 1999 to June 2003

Owen Hicks
University of Western Australia
July 1997 to June 1999

Peggy Nightingale
University of New South Wales
July 1996 to June 1997

Philip Candy
Queensland University of Technology
1992 to 1995

David Boud
University of New South Wales
1988 to 1991

John Bowden
University of Melbourne

Ernest Roe
University of Queensland

Jacqueline Lublin
New South Wales Institute of Technology

John Powell
University of New South Wales

Robert Ross
Griffith Institute for Higher Education

Barbara Falk
University of Melbourne

Fred Katz
University of New South Wales